Liquid Instruments success at Tech23


SYDNEY: Australian technology innovators were awarded an exciting collection of prizes at the Tech23 Awards Ceremony in Sydney last night.

The jam-packed day finished with the ‘Kicking out of our backyard’ panel featuring Assistant Minister for Innovation Wyatt Roy, Westpac and Cochlear Board member Alison Deans; Capital Markets CRC Chairman Michael Aitken and CSIRO’s CEO, Larry Marshall.

Packed to capacity, over 400 delegates drank in the incredible variety of technologies and innovations that were on show. Liquid Instruments founder Daniel Shaddock impressed the audience with his engaging presentation taking away the Tech23 2015 People’s Choice Award. The ANU-backed company also won the $7.5k Data61 Digital Disruption Award.

The Tech23 Innovation Excellence Award went to Nano-X for their affordable radiotherapy machines for treating cancer. The Sydney based medtech startup led by Dr Ilana Feain, also won the CSIRO Breakthrough Innovation Award which is a covetable cash prize of $15k.

The Tech23 Greatest Potential Award was won by Hivery for their prescriptive analytics tools. Hivery is led by Co-founder Jason Hosking and is a spin-out of Data61.

The seventh annual Tech23 event helped increase the informal networks of these young companies by bringing together a high-calibre audience of people who can help them build their companies for global impact through connections; advice and prizes.

“It is wonderful to see how much good will has been created over the years for the Tech23 companies to tap into. The sponsors, industry leaders, prize givers, Tech23 Alumni and the audience are all so supportive of these young game-changing companies and go out of their way to connect with them and help them kick their companies out of our backyard.” said Rachel Slattery, founder of Tech23.

“Tech23 is a truly national event with founders hailing from across the country and boasting connections with Australia’s leading R&D organisations – a couple from University of Melbourne’s MAP; a few from Sydney University’s INCUBATE and others with connections to the University of Wollongong; Australian National University; ATP Innovations, Data61 and CSIRO.”

The AMP Amplify Award for Best technology Tech23 2015 start-up founded by a woman – a $2.5k cash prize, was awarded to Leanne Connelly of Wollongong headquartered Me3D who create affordable 3D printing systems for Australian schools. Me3D was also the winner of the REA Group Digital Disruptor Award, a $5k cash prize.

Tech23 2015 is only possible thanks to the generous support of CSIRO, Amazon Web Services, Data61, AGSM @ UNSW Business School, Citrix, ATP Innovations, AusIndustry, Capital Markets Technologies and Vivant.

The fill list of winners can be found on the Tech23 webpage:

This entry was posted in ACT Innovation, ANUCV, DTF. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.